Unidade Acadêmica

Faculty of Computer Science

by Portal FACOM
Published: 08/05/2019 - 10:34
Last modification: 18/06/2019 - 12:17

The Federal University of Uberlândia was founded in 1969, with the association of several isolated colleges, such as the Faculty of Engineering, the Medical School, the Law School, among others. In 1978 its federalization took place - and at the time - its academic and administrative organizations were structured in three centers: Exact Sciences and Technology Center (CETEC), Human and Arts Sciences Center (CEHAR) and Biological Sciences Center (CEBIM).

As a result of a CETEC initiative, in 1988 the Undergratuate Program in Computer Science was created, the embryo of a broader project that would culminate in the creation of the Computer Science Faculty (FACOM), twelve years later, in the year 2000.

Since 2001, FACOM began its consolidation process, creating the Graduate Program in Computer Science, in the form of an Academic Master's Degree. Subsequently, its expansion continued in 2009, with the creation of the Undergratuate Program in Information Systems (BSI) at the Santa Mônica campus in Uberlândia, and also the year of 2010 at the Monte Carmelo campus.

In 2011, the Coordination of Superior Level Staff Improvement (CAPES) approved the Doctoral Course in Computer Science, in recognition of the scientific production of FACOM in several areas of computing.

Computer Science Faculty Office:

Faculty Director: Mauricio Cunha Escarpinati

Faculty Officer:  Vinicius Soares Oliveira de Souza Gervásio

E-mail: secretaria.facom@ufu.br

Telephone Number: +55 34 3239 4393

Office Hours:

Monday to Friday
08h - 12h / 13h - 17h


Santa Mônica Campus - Building 1A - Room 236
João Naves de Ávila Avenue - 2121 - Santa Mônica Neighbourhood
Uberlândia - Minas Gerais - Brazil